Books, Devotionals

The Words of Jesus: Devotionals for Quiet Evenings by John Ross Macduff

Paperback & eBook

The Words of Jesus: Devotionals for Quiet Evenings by John Ross Macduff

An inspiring collection of 31 devotionals, one for each evening of the month.

Jesus' words, preserved for us in scripture, are no ordinary words. They are something far greater. Jesus said Himself that, “The words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life.”

For those of us who have tasted of God's matchless grace, we can agree with Simon Peter that Jesus, “has the words of eternal life.”

Jesus’ many divine and comforting words are the centerpieces of this classic work of mid-nineteenth century devotional literature. Inside John Ross Macduff highlights various “words of Jesus” through 31 concise, but no less rich, devotionals, one for each evening of the month.

Originally published in 1858, The Greater Heritage is proud to offer this classic in a new and updated version. This new edition includes footnotes that clarify certain words, and that introduce readers to various historical figures referenced by Macduff. Also included is a foreword by J.R. Waller, Founder of The Greater Heritage.

Jesus spoke to us so that in Him we “might have peace.” Through The Words of Jesus: Devotionals for Quiet Evenings, you can close out each day with His life-sustaining, and life-giving words of nourishment.

John Ross Macduff, D.D. (1818-95) was a minister for the Church of Scotland. He studied at the University of Edinburgh and went on to hold pastoral positions at Kettins in Forfarshire (modern day Perth and Kinross), St. Madoes in Perthshire (modern day Perth and Kinross) and Sandyford in Glasgow. He was a noted hymn writer and prolific and popular devotional writer. Macduff earned Doctor of Divinity degrees from the Universities of Glasgow and New York.

Foreword by J.R. Waller
First Evening – The Gracious Invitation
Second Evening – The Comforting Assurance
Third Evening – The Power of Prayer
Fourth Evening – The Unveiled Dealings
Fifth Evening – The Father Glorified
Sixth Evening – The Tender Solicitude
Seventh Evening – The Good Shepherd
Eighth Evening – The Abiding Comforter
Ninth Evening – The Gracious Verdict
Tenth Evening – The Wondrous Relationship
Eleventh Evening – The Befriended Orphans
Twelfth Evening – The World Conquered
Thirteenth Evening – The Little Flock
Fourteenth Evening – The Unlimited Offer
Fifteenth Evening – The Joyful Servitude
Sixteenth Evening – The Measure of Love
Seventeenth Evening – The Brief Gospel
Eighteenth Evening – The Great Calm
Nineteenth Evening – The Dying Legacy
Twentieth Evening – The Supreme Investiture
Twenty-first Evening – The Divine Glorifier
Twenty-second Evening – The Joyful Transformation
Twenty-third Evening – The Omnipotent Prayer
Twenty-fourth Evening – The Immutable Pledge
Twenty-fifth Evening – The Abiding Presence
Twenty-sixth Evening – The Resurrection and Life
Twenty-seventh Evening – The Little While
Twenty-eighth Evening – The Beatific Vision
Twenty-ninth Evening – The Many Mansions
Thirtieth Evening – The Promised Return
Thirty-first Evening – The Closing Benediction
About The Greater Heritage

To discover more books like this John Ross Macduff book, subscribe to our email list.

Categories ,
Tags , , , ,
Paperback 5.5x8.5 | 72 pages
eBook PDF, EPUB and MOBI formats About eBooks
Cover Design Rakel Fairfull
ISBN (paperback) 978-1-953855-04-6
ISBN (PDF) 978-1-953855-05-3
ISBN (EPUB) 978-1-953855-06-0
ISBN (MOBI) 978-1-953855-07-7
REL012020 Christian Living / Devotional
Book Reviewers For a complimentary copy to review on your website/blog please contact


Return Policy